Sanctions on Russia

Sanctions are being imposed on seven senior Russian officials including Alexander Bortnikov, whead of the FSB and deputy Defence Ministers Alexei Krivoruchko and Pavel Popov. Under the sanctions, the assets of the officials in the US are frozen. 

As well as the individuals 14 entities associated with Russia’s biological and chemical agent production, including 13 commercial parties and a government research institute, were levied punitive measures.

Some of those sanctioned are: 

  • 27th Scientific Center;
  • 48 Central Scientific Research Institute Sergiev Posad (also known as [aka] 48 TsNII Sergiev Posad; aka 48th Central Research Institute, Sergiev Posad);
  • 48 Central Scientific Research Institute Kirov (aka 48th Central Research Institute Kirov; aka 48th TsNII);
  • 48 Central Scientific Research Institute Yekaterinburg (aka 48th TsNII Yekaterinburg);
  • State Scientific Research Institute of Organic Chemistry and Technology (aka GoSNIIOKhT);
  • 33rd Scientific Research and Testing Institute (aka 33rd TsNIII).

In a co-ordinated move, the EU announced on Tuesday that it had targeted four Russian government officials. They are Alexandr Kalashnikov, the head of the Russian prison system, Alexandr Bastrykin, chairman of the Investigative Committee, Chief Prosecutor Igor Krasnov, and Viktor Zolotov, who heads of the National Guard. The sanctions include travel bans and asset freezes.

Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov said on Tuesday before the U.S. announcement that Moscow would respond in kind to any new U.S. sanctions over Navalny, the Interfax news agency reported.



Our Current Sponsors