Wayne Bryden

Wayne Bryden obtained M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Physical Chemistry from The Johns Hopkins University in 1982 and 1983 respectively. He spent a 25-year career at The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory (JHU-APL) where he conducted basic and applied materials and biodefense research as a Principal Professional Staff Scientist and Program Manager.

Since his time with JHU-APL Wayne has gone on to serve as a Program Manager in the Special Projects/Strategic Technology Office of DARPA, where in 2007 he was awarded the Office of the Secretary of Defense Medal for Exceptional Public Service, VP for advanced research and Chief Scientific Officer at ICx Tecnologies, and Chief Science Officer of the Detection Division of FLIR Systems

In September 2013 Wayne cofounded Zeteo Tech, Inc, where he currently serves as President and Chief Executive Officer.

Wayne is the author of more than 80 publications and holds 7 US Patents (with 2 pending). He was twice honored as a JHU-APL Inventor of the Year for invention of novel mass spectrometry-based sensors and biological decontamination technologies. His current research interests include miniaturized sensors, integration of sensors with autonomous robotic systems, mass spectrometry, systems biology, airborne transmission of Mycobacterium tuberculosis, standoff chemical and biological detection, hyperspectral imaging, and materials science. He is a member of the American Chemical Society, the Materials Research Society, the American Society for Mass Spectrometry, Sigma Pi Sigma, and Sigma Xi. He has served on the faculty of the Part-Time Graduate Program, G. W. C. Whiting School of Engineering of The Johns Hopkins University since 1987 teaching courses in Applied Physics and Applied Biomedical Engineering Programs.

Our Current Sponsors

  • Flir
  • BioFire Defense
  • Federal Resources
  • Cristanini
  • Airboss
  • Flir
  • Tex Shield
  • Argon
  • 908 Devices
  • Avon
  • Flir
  • Battelle
  • Bw Tek
  • CQC
  • Decon Seven Systems
  • Flir
  • DQE
  • Dxterity
  • First Line Technology
  • Futurtech
  • Flir
  • Metrohm Raman
  • NBC sys
  • Proengin
  • Qinetiq
  • Flir
  • Tex Shield
  • Wl Gore
  • ADS, Inc.
  • Rigaku Analytical Devices
  • Flir
  • Paul Boye Technologies
  • Observis
  • Zeteo Tech
  • Bertin Instruments
  • Tex Shield